Jaxon Gaming News » LoL News » List and guide for all League of Legends maps and game modes
LoL News

List and guide for all League of Legends maps and game modes

Summoner’s Rift

Unlike most MOBAs, League of Legends hosts a ton of different game modes with special maps to suit players who want something unique.

The core five-on-five game mode on Summoner’s Rift will always be the LoL’s core, but Riot Games has cooked up a ton of different options to mix up the experience. Whether it be the controlled chaos of All Random, All Mid, the all-out madness of Ultra Rapid Fire, or the tight team play of Arena, the developer made sure there’s a mode for everyone. Many alternate modes also come with custom maps to match perfectly with the experience.

Players who are interested in mixing up their experience should check out all the alternate modes and maps that League of Legends has to offer.

All League of Legends maps and game modes

Here’s a list of all League of Legends maps and game modes, including some that are retired from the modern game.

All League of Legends maps: 

  • Summoner’s Rift
  • Cosmic Ruins (Dark Star)
  • Crash Site (Odyssey: Extraction)
  • Crystal Scar (Dominion)
  • Substructure 43 (PROJECT: OVERCHARGE)
  • Temple of Lily and Lotus (Nexus Blitz)
  • Twisted Treeline
  • Valoran City Park (Star Guardians)
League of Legends Star Guardian Invasion map

All League of Legends game modes

  • 5v5 Normal & Ranked (Summoner’s Rift)
  • 3v3 Normal & Ranked (Twisted Treeline)
  • Dominion (Crystal Scar)
  • Ascension (Crystal Scar)
  • Black Market Brawlers (Summoner’s Rift)
  • Dark Star: Singularity (Cosmic Ruins)
  • Definitely Not Dominion (Crystal Scar)
  • Doom Bots (Summoner’s Rift)
  • Hexakill (Summoner’s Rift)
  • Hunt of the Blood Moon (Summoner’s Rift)
  • Invasion (Valoran City Park)
  • Nemesis Draft (Summoner’s Rift)
  • Nexus Blitz (Temple of Lily and Lotus)
  • Nexus Siege (Summoner’s Rift)
  • Odyssey: Extraction (Crash Site)
  • One for All (Summoner’s Rift)
  • OVERCHARGE (Substructure 43)
  • Ultra Rapid Fire (Summoner’s Rift)
  • Ultimate Spellbook (Summoner’s Rift)

Besides Summoner’s Rift and the special maps that follow patch cycles, Riot has further developed All Random, All Mid along with the Howling Abyss map for years. Howling Abyss now has several map variants and is used for several special game modes.

All ARAM maps

  • Howling Abyss
  • Butcher’s Bridge (Bilgewater Event special)
  • Magma Chamber (defunct 1v1 map)

All ARAM game modes

  • ARAM (standard)
  • Legend of the Poro King (Howling Abyss)
  • Snowdown Showdown (Howling Abyss, 1v1)

The sheer variety of game modes is one of the things that most draws players to League of Legends and keeps them invested in the game.

What is the next game mode for League of Legends?

Based on community requests, the next game mode for League of Legends may be the return of 3v3 Twisted Treeline.

League of Legends has plenty of game modes, but the rose-tinted glasses of the community often point toward Twisted Treeline. The classic game mode officially left LoL in 2019 at the end of Season 9 and has yet to make a return. Players on social media often ask Riot for the return of the game mode. With the fifth anniversary of its removal on the horizon, it may be time to bring it back as the next new game mode for League of Legends.

Twisted Treeline League of Legends 3v3 game mode map

Twisted Treeline had a number of changes compared to Summoner’s Rift, with the most obvious being its 3v3 lobbies. The smaller player count compounded with the dual lane map to create a bloody game mode designed around skirmishing right from the start. The smaller map and shorter match time also made Twisted Treeline ideal for learning new champions. League currently has an excellent game mode for groups of two, four, and five. Adding it back would let teams of three get a match in with their full team and no random players.

LoL game modes explained

Summoner’s Rift

Summoner’s Rift is the classic League of Legends experience. Two teams of five players match up across three lanes and a broad jungle to battle it out for experience and gold. These resources enable players to level up their champions and purchase valuable items that improve their fighting potential. The goal is to tear down defensive turrets that protect the enemy’s base and then invade to destroy the enemy nexus.


ARAM is a simpler and more straightforward game mode. Five players on each team march their way down a single unified lane. The goal is still to gain experience and gold to power up one’s champions, but there are far fewer strategic concerns because the single lane is so straightforward. One major twist is the draft, where players are randomly assigned champions from their pool. ARAM is generally considered a much more casual form of LoL, but many players still take it quite seriously.


LoL Arena game mode and map

Arena is the newest evergreen mode for League of Legends with its own special map and mechanics. This mode sees players battle it out in teams of two. Four such teams compete in a tightening playing field in this scrambling brawl. Arena has a much different feel compared to Summoner’s Rift and ARAM, eschewing the lane mechanic entirely to create what feels more like a battle royale with MOBA mechanics.

As the LoL universe continues to develop, Riot will likely introduce new maps or game modes in the future.

Read Also
All maps in CS2 for Premier, Wingman, and Arms Race
Counter-Strike 2 has a mix of old and new locations that offer ...
All the maps and modes confirmed for Valorant on consoles
Valorant on console won't include every map in the game, and certain ...
Stake.us Promo
New game modes coming soon to Modern Warfare II
New game modes set to come to Modern Warfare soon!
Sony unveils all nine graphic modes for God of War: Ragnarok
Sony has revealed that God of War: Ragnarok will have no less ...
EA details several game modes for the FIFA 23 World Cup update
Starting November 9, players will be able to play the FIFA 23 ...

Players must be 21 years of age or older or reach the minimum age for gambling in their respective state and located in jurisdictions where online gambling is legal. Please play responsibly. Bet with your head, not over it. If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, and wants help, call or visit: (a) the Council on Compulsive Gambling of New Jersey at 1-800-Gambler or www.800gambler.org; or (b) Gamblers Anonymous at 855-2-CALL-GA or www.gamblersanonymous.org.

This site is using Cloudflare and adheres to the Google Safe Browsing Program. We adapted Google's Privacy Guidelines to keep your data safe at all times.
21+NCPGGamblers Anonymous
Don't Miss The Best Offers This Month
Stake.us Bonus
$55 Stake Cash + 260K Gold Coins + 5% Rakeback
T&Cs apply, 18+
Promo Code:
Go to Stake.us
Get Bonus
Wow Vegas
Wow Vegas Bonus
35 SC FREE and 1.75M WOW Coins
T&Cs apply, 18+
Promo Code:
Go to Wow Vegas
Get Bonus
High5Casino Bonus
5 Sweeps Coins + 250 Game Coins + 600 Diamonds
T&Cs apply, 18+
Promo Code:
Go to High5Casino
Get Bonus
Your Promo Code:
The bonus offer of was already opened in an additional window. If not, you can open it also by clicking the following link:
Visit Site