Jaxon Gaming News » LoL News » EMEA Masters format won’t change in 2023, TCL to get three slots
LoL News

EMEA Masters format won’t change in 2023, TCL to get three slots


The new 2023 EMEA Masters will keep the same format as previous editions of the EU Masters, Riot Games announced today. However, tournament berth allocated was adjusted to accomodate the new ERL-affiliated leagues in Turkey and the MENA region.

TCL put at the very top besides LFL and gets three EMEA Masters slots

With two new leagues added to the ERL ecosystem, Riot had to change the EMEA Masters slot allocation.

Given the Turkish Championship League’s (TCL) history, namely their long-held berths for MSI and Worlds, Riot opted to give them the same EMEA Masters allocation as the French LFL. In practice, this means, two Turkish sides will qualify for the main event, and one will be seeded into the Play-In stage. On the other hand, the MENA region’s Arabian League (AL) will join five other ERL regions in receiving just two Play-In berths at the EMEA Masters. The Arabian League serves as the first official league for the MENA region.

The number of teams participating at EMEA Masters remained the same as in prior tournaments. This mean that several regions, including the LFL, Spain’s Superliga, and Poland’s Ultraliga, lost tournament berths to accomodate Turkey and MENA.

EMEA Masters format will stay the same in 2023
Image Credit: Michal Konkol/Riot Games

The EMEA Masters format features 16 Play-ins teams divided into four groups, with the top two teams advancing to Play-ins Knockout Stage. Four teams that win their Knockout Stage best-of-five matchups move onto the Main Stage.

Main Group Stage features 4 teams advancing from Play-ins joined by 12 Main Stage teams, split into four groups. The top two teams from each group move onto a single elimination best-of-five Playoff bracket determining the EMEA Masters champion.

Changes to EMEA Masters slot allocation from 2022 to 2023:

  • LFL: 2 MS+2 PI > 2 MS+1 PI
  • TCL*: N/A > 2 MS+1 PI
  • Superliga: 2 MS +1 PI > 2 MS+0 PI
  • Ultraliga: 2 MS +1 PI > 2 MS+0 PI
  • Prime League: 2 MS +1 PI > 2 MS+0 PI
  • NLC: 2 MS +1 PI > 2 MS+0 PI
  • PGN: 1 MS +1 PI > 1 MS+1 PI
  • EBL: 1 MS+1 PI >  0 MS +2 PI
  • LPLOL: 0 MS +2 PI > 0 MS +2 PI
  • GLL:  MS +2 PI > 0 MS +2 PI
  • ESLOL:  MS +2 PI > 0 MS +2 PI
  • HM:  MS +2 PI > 0 MS +2 PI
  • AL*: N/A >  MS +2 PI

MS=Main Stage, PI=Play-ins; *TCL and AL didn’t participate in EU Masters in 2022

Read Also
The EMEA Summer Split format is getting a rework
Ahead of the EMEA Masters Summer Split, Riot has announced some format ...
E stands for EMEA: LEC and ERL ecosystems expand to EMEA in 2023
Riot Games and the LEC have announced they are expanding LoL's esports ...
Stake.us Promo
Official: Karmine Corp won’t be in the LEC in 2023
Karmine Corp won't be joining the LEC in 2023. During a stream, ...
The tides have turned again with all EMEA teams eliminated from Masters
The fluctuation in pro Valorant continues as EMEA is out of Masters ...
Stage 1 Masters Reykjavik slots & Circuit Points revealed
The stage is set for Masters 1 of 2022.

Players must be 21 years of age or older or reach the minimum age for gambling in their respective state and located in jurisdictions where online gambling is legal. Please play responsibly. Bet with your head, not over it. If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, and wants help, call or visit: (a) the Council on Compulsive Gambling of New Jersey at 1-800-Gambler or www.800gambler.org; or (b) Gamblers Anonymous at 855-2-CALL-GA or www.gamblersanonymous.org.

This site is using Cloudflare and adheres to the Google Safe Browsing Program. We adapted Google's Privacy Guidelines to keep your data safe at all times.
21+NCPGGamblers Anonymous
Don't Miss The Best Offers This Month
Stake.us Bonus
$55 Stake Cash + 260K Gold Coins + 5% Rakeback
T&Cs apply, 18+
Promo Code:
Go to Stake.us
Get Bonus
Wow Vegas
Wow Vegas Bonus
35 SC FREE and 1.75M WOW Coins
T&Cs apply, 18+
Promo Code:
Go to Wow Vegas
Get Bonus
High5Casino Bonus
5 Sweeps Coins + 250 Game Coins + 600 Diamonds
T&Cs apply, 18+
Promo Code:
Go to High5Casino
Get Bonus
Your Promo Code:
The bonus offer of was already opened in an additional window. If not, you can open it also by clicking the following link:
Visit Site